Fundación Jesús Serra Research Awards

5th Call – From 24 January to 5 May 2023

Fundación Jesús Serra announces the fifth edition of the Fundación Jesús Serra Research Awards, which is aimed at acknowledging the path of excellence and outstanding contributions to research in the fields of nutrition and diet, with an impact on health, of young scientists working in Spain within the scopes of basic, clinical, epidemiological and technological research.

Objectives of the research awards

Recognise the excellence of Spanish researchers

Build a healthier society

Ensure the well-being of future generations

How to participate in the Jesús Serra Foundation Research Awards in Spain

Jury of the research awards

Dra. Maria A. Blasco – presidenta del jurado

Dr. Maria A. Blasco

PhD in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (1993), Director of the Centro Nacional de Investigaciones Oncológicas (National Cancer Research Centre, CNIO) and Head of the Telomeres and Telomerase Group of the CNIO.

Prof. Lina Badimon

Prof. Lina Badimon

Director of the Instituto Catalán de Ciencias Cardiovasculares (Catalan Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, ICCC) and Research Professor of the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (Spanish National Research Council, CSIC) at the Santa Creu i Sant Pau Hospital.

Dr. Carlos Macaya Miguel

Dr. Carlos Macaya

Professor Emeritus of Cardiology at the Complutense University of Madrid (UCM) and Secretary of the Interhospital Foundation for Cardiovascular Research.

Dr. Pedro Mata López MD, PhD

Dr. Pedro Mata MD, PhD

Chairman and founder of the Spanish Foundation for Familial Hypercholesterolaemia. (HF).

Dra. Mercedes Rincón

Dr. Mercedes Rincón

Professor in the Department of Immunology and Microbiology from the School of Medicine at the University of Colorado.

Dr. Pedro Mata López MD, PhD

Dr. Arkaitz Carracedo

Dr Arkaitz Carracedo: Ikerbasque Research Professor at the Centre for Cooperative Research in Biosciences (CIC bioGUNE) and Associate Professor at the University of the Basque Country.

Dr. Pedro Mata López MD, PhD

Dr. Fàtima Crispi

Specialist in the foetal cardiology of the Centre for Maternal-Foetal Medicine at Hospital Clínic de Barcelona and Hospital Sant Joan de Déu. Researcher at the August Pi i Sunyer Biomedical Research Institute (IDIBAPS). Associate professor at the University of Barcelona.

Dr. Pedro Mata López MD, PhD

Laura Halpern

Secretary and Spokesperson of the Jury.