Dra. Maria A. Blasco  –
president of the jury

DA doctor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (1993), she is the Director of the CNIO (Spanish National Centre for Cancer Research) and leads its Telomeres and Telomerase group.

Her pioneering research established the fundamental role of telomeres and telomerase in cancer and ageing. She has published nearly 250 scientific articles and has won several awards and distinctions such as the Josef Steiner Cancer Research Award (Switzerland), the prestigious EMBO Gold Medal (European Molecular Biology Organization), the European Körber Science Award (Germany), the 2010 Premio Nacional Santiago Ramón y Cajal award in biological research and the 2016 Premio de la Comunidad de Madrid Miguel Catalán award for her career in research, among others.

Prof. Lina Badimon

Director of the Cardiovascular Science Institute (ICCC) and CSIC Professor at the Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau. Lecturer Adjunct Associate Professor of Medicine – Cardiology at Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York (USA), Director of Catalana Occidente Chair – UAB, Director of UNESCO Chair in Biomedical Sciences Training and Research and Vice President of Scientific Affairs of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC).

Her research interest is focused on cardiovascular and cardiometabolic diseases, atherosclerosis, thrombosis and ischemic diseases. She has published more than 490 articles in highly rated scientific journals. Her H index is 69.

Dr. Carlos Macaya

Professor Emeritus of Cardiology in the Faculty of Medicine at the Complutense University of Madrid (UCM). In 1998, he created the Cardiovascular Institute, of which he was the director until 2007.

He held the position of Director of the Cardiology Department at the Clinical Hospital San Carlos in Madrid up to 2021, the year of his retirement.

In 2007, he won the Jaime I Award for Medical Research, awarded by Fundación Premios Rey Jaime I.

Dr. Pedro Mata

President and founder of the Fundación Hipercolesterolemia Familiar (Familial Hypercholesterolemia Foundation)

Specialist in Internal Medicine, President and founder of the Spanish Family Hypercholesterolemia Foundation, President of the Ibero-American Family Hypercholesterolemia Network.

He served as Associate Chief of Internal Medicine at the University Hospital of the Fundación Jiménez Díaz until 2013. He is co-founder and board member of the International Familial Hypercholesterolemia Foundation. As a researcher, he has particular interest in epidemiological clinical and molecular research in Familial Hypercholesterolemia. He was director of the prospective cohort study of HF in Spain (SAFEHEART), a programme designed to understand the prognostic factors and mechanisms that influence the development of coronary heart disease and mortality in people with a genetic diagnosis.

Dra. Mercedes Rincón

Professor in the Department of Immunology and Microbiology from the School of Medicine at the University of Colorado. She earned her PhD at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid and continued her research at the Yale University School of Medicine. She is co-founder of the startup Mitotherapeutix.

She has published 146 articles in major publications such as Science, Immunity and Nature Communications and has served on several panels at the National Institute of Health (NIH). She is the inventor of 2 patents and 3 patents of addition and is a world-renowned immunologist with experience in research fields such as allergies, asthma and arthritis, among others.

Dr. Arkaitz Carracedo

Ikerbasque Research Professor at the Centre for Cooperative Research in Biosciences (CIC bioGUNE) and Associate Professor at the University of the Basque Country.

After postdoctoral positions at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center Hospital and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School (USA), he established his research group at CIC bioGUNE at the end of 2010. His laboratory is a pioneer in the study of the metabolic bases of prostate cancer.

Dr. Fàtima Crispi

Senior specialist in the Foetal Cardiology Unit of the Centre for Maternal-Foetal Medicine at Hospital Clínic de Barcelona and Hospital Sant Joan de Déu, where she leads a pioneering consultation for the study of the foetal heart in extra-cardiac pathologies.

Crispi combines her healthcare work with her work as a researcher at the August Pi i Sunyer Biomedical Research Institute (IDIBAPS) and at BCNatal. She is also an associate professor at the University of Barcelona.

Laura Halpern Serra

Secretary and spokesperson of the Jury