16th Poetry CompetitionFundación Jesús Serra

Fundación Jesús Serra Poetry Competition

In 2023 the 16th edition of the Fundación Jesús Serra Poetry Competition will take place, aimed at continuing to promote the writing of this literary genre that our founder, Jesús Serra Santamans, enjoyed so much. 

The 16th edition of the Fundación Jesús Serra Poetry Competition will take place on the following dates:

- 14 February 2023: opening of applications (completed)

- 26 April 2023: submissions deadline (completed)

- 7 June 2023: deliberation of the winners

- 30 June 2023: awards ceremony

We now know our winners for the 2022 edition:

Un Llibre – Ingrid Miquel Roig

CATEGORY C - Spanish
Hormigas – Victoria Arregui Sancho

CATEGORY B - Catalan
La música del cor – Simerdeep Chauhan kaur

CATEGORY B - Spanish
Amarillo Salvaje – Irene Makay García

CATEGORY A - Catalan
Habituds – Xavier Rodon Morera

CATEGORY A - Spanish Febrero y los almendros – Jorge Fernández Gonzalo

Read the winning poems from the 15th Fundación Jesús Serra Poetry Competition here

Fundación Jesús Serra Poetry Competition has been running since 2008 and has managed to attract as many as a thousand poems, written by participants from more than twenty countries. Through this initiative we aim to reward the best talent, both of young and adult poetry; a mission that is increasingly difficult given the high quality of the work received.

Participants present their candidacy to one of the three categories according to their age —A (between ten and thirteen years), B (between fourteen and seventeen) and C (starting from eighteen) —, and the only requirement to enter is that the poems are written in Spanish or Catalan (a prize is awarded for each language and category). There are no other restrictions in terms of the topic or nationality. The poetry competition is not only aimed at boosting talent, but also to help eliminate territorial and artistic barriers.